Blob32530 If I have the chance to hear Patty Loveless live, I do.  I especially want to see her live when she does an acoustic/bluegrass set, which I was fortunate enough to witness this evening.   I have loved to hear Patty sing since I was about 17 and I swear, she sings better now than ever. 

When Patty hit the stage out at Ridgetop tonight, and started in on "Pretty Little Miss", it brought tears to my eyes.  A few months away from her 50th birthday, the girl is not showing any signs of age.

Even though she didn’t do the 1 hour and 15 minutes she was scheduled to do, the 45 minutes was just an aboslute treat. B00005kg6501She did a lot of stuff from her amazing Mountain Soul album (mine and #2’s favorite from that one is Daniel Prayed and I thought he was going to jump up onstage with her band on that one) and stuff from other albums like Here I Am, Never Ending Song of Love, Blame It On Your Heart and she encored with The Grandpa That I Know. It was great.

F53230o6mny It’d have been even more perfect had she done songs from her Christmas album, Bluegrass and White Snow. #2 digs him some Santa Train.

After Mr. Smiff and them played and did their autograph thing, he had disappeared from the record table.  I found him backstage, putting his bass and amp up, in deep chat with Emory Gordy, Jr.  Emory is Patty’s husband and something of a bass legend.  (He was in Emmylou’s original Hot Band and played on all of her early stuff) I was telling Emory how great Patty sounded, blah, blah, gurm, gurm (but I was serious) and he said "You oughta hear her singing around the house."  Can you imagine? You look at Emory now and he looks like somebody’s cute little grandaddy.  Hard to believe he hung with Gram Parsons, once upon a time.

Pretty cool to get to go to work with Mr. Smiff two Saturdays in a row.  We don’t get to do that very often.

