I interrupt this, what’s inadvertently become a Christmas Blog, to post about something of a highly important nostalgic nature.

I’ve been renting season 2 of Grey’s Anatomy to catch up.  It’s dandy.  Love it.  I also rented something that arrived yesterday that takes me to a new, Memory Lane high…The Electric Company is in the house! 

Lots of you who read this are of my era (born between say, 1960 and 1975) and if you fall into that era, you will definitely remember Carmella, Winnie, Easy Reader, J. Arthur Crank, the Short Circus…the whole gang. If you do fall into this category, you’ve gotta see this.  Thanksgiving_2006_065

You’d think a show that is 35 years old (yikes) this year, that children of 2006 would not find it entertaining.  Heh.  Wrong.  #2 watched it over and over until he fell asleep last night.  He was highly impressed with my rendition of "Hey you guuuuuuuuuuuuuuys!"  Goes to show kids like simple stuff.  Funny though, how when that show first came out, those graphics were then state-of-the-art.

Most of these skits make me feel like I’m in my bedroom with the pink, shag carpet that I shared with Gastrica and I couldn’t have been more than 3 or 4. 

I can remember how "Julie" the cute little Asian girl, had the coolest bangs that would flop up and down when she’d dance.  I wanted floppy bangs like that but my hair was short and curly and could never be so fabulous.

Irene Cara was just a little chubby preteen when she was part of the "Short Circus."

Thanksgiving_2006_054 Remember the groovy graphics?

I always was very partial to Winnie, aka Judy Graubart.  Whatever happened to her and JJ, (whose real name was Skip Hinnant)?  I always thought they were married in real life.  That character he did, Fargo North, Decoder…call me crazy, but, I think that’s brilliant writing right there.

I always forget Bill Cosby was on there because he was only on the first couple seasons.  Morgan Freeman, even as the groovy disc jockey, you can see his amazing talent even then.

Anyway, you gotta watch this dvd and if you are younger than me and don’t remember it, get it anyway. For some groovy nostalgia, go listen to this.

