My Catholic friends, like Busy Mom, are all set for Ash Wednesday.  Her kid is really pumped about it.   CLC is about to give up meat or something for lent.  I don’t think he’s Catholic though.  Lots of Methodists and other protestants do the Lent thing.  I guess there are some Babatists who participate in Lent in some form or fashion.  And that’s just groovy.  I’m kinda glad I don’t have to do a public penance and can confess my sins between me and my Father in private.  Whew!  Rituals are neat though as long as they aren’t just a ritual.

How, you ask, do us uptight, Southern Baptists observe this Lent season?  We give up Wednesday nights to do a dang Easter cantata.  That’s right, a cantata.  Have you ever been part of a cantata?  What in the name of Fanny Crosby IS a cantata anyway?  I don’t know, but, I’m Baptist and that’s what we do.  I guess we can say we’re giving up watching American Idol on Wednesdays during Lent to rehearse the Easter program. 

I just hope come Easter Sunday morning, they’ll sing “Up From The Grave He Arose” cause that song makes me laugh like crazy.  Isn’t that nuts?  38 years old and I just giggle when they sing that song every year.  Like I do when we sing “All Hail the power of Jesus’ name, let angels PROSTATE fall!”  Ree-tard.

I think it would be kinda fun to get boogers ashes on our foreheads, but, I don’t suspect my Baptist church will do that. 

I kid about this and that, but, make no mistake,  I’m glad for this season and I hope for everybody this Lenten season is meaningful and as for me, I’m glad I serve a risen Savior.  Lord knows how bad I need one.