We have discussed here the glories of Paula Deen’s Pumpkin Gooey Butter Cake before.  I have finally made another flavor of said Gooey Cake and am here to tell you that it is dangerously good.  I made the Peanut Butter Gooey Butter Cake yesterday and all of the Smiffs (and extended ones) said “Yes” to it.   It sorta reminds one of a Reeses Peanut Butter Cup. 

I have to tell of how the cake almost was a disaster.  And just like Busy Mom says, I do these things so you don’t have to.  I was cooking for the Mother In Law yesterday cause she was something of an in-valid yesterday and I was about to fix this cake.  I was going along fixing the thing, admiring how good it looked.  I poured the filling on top of the cake and the color was so peanut buttery and yummy looking.  I was high fiving myself all the while and I went to lick the spoon and it tasted like styrofoam.  WTF?  At that moment, I looked up and saw the box of powdered sugar that I had neglected to whip into the filling.  Duh.

I took the filling off and put back into the bowl, cursing myself and I opened the powdered sugar and had an explosion of confectioners sugar all over Hazel’s floor.  (Unlike mine, Hazel’s kitchen floor is clean enough to perform surgery on and has probably never had as much crap on it as it did yesterday)  I had powdered sugar all over my person.  It was cute.  I’m glad nobody saw it happen. 

It all turned out ok and that cake is something else.  You should make it.

