Newscoma tells of a rather heartless email she received regarding why she writes about her experiences with cancer.  Anytime she writes about losing her mother and the journey they took through her illness, I relate to how it affected our own family when my father dealt with prostate  for 9 years before he died in 1992

I found out my dad had cancer in an elevator at St. Thomas Hospital when I was in 8th grade.  Not knowing how to deal with the possibility of having to raise two teenage daughters alone, I’m sure she was quite freaked out at the time.  I remember having kinda the same reaction NC had…just being kinda numb.  We were fortunate that we had my dad until February of 1992.  Initially, he was given 3 years tops, but, made it to 9 years.  Not bad.

In the years since then, I’ve seen a lot of people I know either through work, church, neighbors, parents of my kids classmates, and others who have bravely fought cancer. 

It has hit our family a little closer this time, with my mother in law getting news that she is facing her own bout with cancer.  We are pretty hopeful because the kind she has has a very good cure rate so we’re thinking positive thoughts and trusting that whatever the outcome, God is in control and will give her and the rest of us whatever is needed to face whatever the outcome is. Every one of us in the Smiff Clan believe what Phillippians 4:6 says:

Don’t worry about anything, but in everything through prayer and petition with thanksgiving, let your requests be known to God.  And the peace of God, which surpasses every thought, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.” 

I know lots of y’all that read this believe in God and in the power of prayer and will pray for Hazel.  She will be getting the very best medical care Nashville has to offer in this particular area of medicine.  She will, we know for sure, be facing major surgery and from then, we aren’t sure.  Her own mother, our beloved Granny Boone, had this same cancer in her 80′s and ended up living to be 92, dying of old age.  We expect Hazel to follow the same path.