I don’t know if you’ve ever seen the section of The Tennessean online that has photo galleries.  They have some of the neatest photos on there.  I’ve found pictures before of my dad and other photos that are not amongst the highly circulated historical photos of Nashville.  It’s really great.  I can spend hours scanning through them.

Today, I was looking at the Gallery of photos of the Tennessee State Fair through the years and found this one…dee-dee.jpgThis is a girl named Dee Dee that I’ve known since I was a wee little tyke.  This picture was taken in 1967 and the funny thing is even if it hadn’t had her name on it, I’d have known her anywhere.  I haven’t seen her in several years, but, this picture is so stinkin’ cute, I had to post it.

I can remember in early elementary school, they still let school out for the fair.  I can remember my mom hauling my sister and me down there and the thing I remember most is looking through this big tank at something that was supposed to be an octopus.  I was expecting to see something like what I’d seen on cartoon (namely, Bozo).  I never made out no octopus.

The last time I went to the State Fair was in 1988 with The Boyfriend Who Impregnated Some Poor Other Girl.  I’d like to be all sentimental about the fair, but, I’m sorry….it gave me the creeps.  It was the crusty, old carnies hollering that made me realize my feelings would never be hurt if’n I never went to the State Fair again.  Those are some creepy fellers right there.

In my imagination, the Fair should be like it was in Pollyanna or that movie with Pat Boone.  Not scary people barking at ya.

