I’m so glad I got up early so I could get to the 8:00 Memorial Service for dear Bro. Glenn Weekley. I wouldn’t have missed it for the world.

Bro. Glenn’s sons in law, both Reverends Richard Ryan and Brady Cooper of New Vision Baptist Church in Murfreesboro who, incidentally, since Bro. Glenn is gone is now probably my favorite preacher guy around…both guys paid a loving tribute to their father in law and mentor. The congregation sang his favorite hymns, we saw wonderful video clips, and that sanctuary, packed at 8:00 in the morning, was full of people deep in their own reflection of what Bro. Glenn meant to them. It was a powerful, emotional,yet, uplifting time for everybody in that room and I’m sure for the no telling how many that came to the later services.

Rev. Courtney Wilson, who was Bro. Glenn’s predecessor at FBC shared of their unique friendship through the years and read from John 14. My dad always called that “The Holiday Inn” verse. He used that term to explain to us as little kids how when we traveled and stayed at Holiday Inns (we did that a lot) they had a room ready for us so we could stay there, same thing with Jesus…he’s got a room waiting for us. That verse always gets to me.

The service ended with the congregation singing “How Great Thou Art”. After we sang the second to last verse, the lights went down, nothing even on the screens, but, Bro. Glenn’s voice. Because I was so caught up in hearing his voice over the sound system as if he were standing there, I can’t remember what he was saying. (Jamey Tucker…help me here)

I was glad to run into my former co-worker, sweet little Bonnie, who I haven’t seen since my last day of work at Lifeway a year ago last week. We were a little too tearful to chat, but, I was glad to see her. There were so many people there, you almost couldn’t tell who was who. I was glad I saw Jamey Tucker and his beautiful family in the parking lot and got to say hey to him. He has the most lovely wife!

Then, I had to go home and redo the eye makeup before I went to my church cause I cried it all off. It didn’t take long from when the service started for me to get all boo-hooey and this song here, “Come To Jesus” sung beautifully by the choir and Lewis Lea is what started it. I’ve sung that with that choir many times.

I think that’s one of the things that stands out the most to me about Bro. Glenn in worship services. When the choir was singing, and if he was moved, he’d always stand and the congregation would follow. Those were my favorite and most meaningful times at that church. 

Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me. In my father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. You know the place where I am going.” John 14:1-4

