Archive for December 16th, 2007

The Snow Turns Into Rain

#2 and I dropped the Holy Tara off tonight at a Christmas party and were making our way up to College Heights Baptist Church to hear the heavenly, other-worldly sounds of the Isaacs.  Good lordy mercy. Those people can sing.

On the drive up to Gallatin, I had the radio on 92.9 and they played Same Old Lang Syne, which I believe is perhaps one of the best, most visual songs ever sung.  Because the HT was not in the vehicle, I proceeded to cut that radio up and let the wonderful tracks and oh-so poetic lyrics fall on me again.  That song always leaves me with the feeling like I just want to have a good cry.

I can remember when that song was in the Top 40, around Christmas time that I was in the 6th or 7th grade.  I have a distinct memory of the first time I heard it (warning…Rainman alert) and it was Christmas Morning, really, really early and I had woken  up way too early to open presents (I knew Biff and Barb would not go for a wake up call of 4:30 a.m.) and I remember hearing that song for the first time and this was also the same time I first ever heard Simon & Garfunkle’s Bridge Over Troubled Water (I was a year old when that was first released in 1970 and my parents didn’t have any S & G records around, sadly) and totally fell in love with that song (I thought it was new).

The thing about Another Old Lang Syne…this was the first time I can recall ever really noticing or realizing the power of words set to rhyme and melody and how powerful they can be in telling a story, conveying such emotion and, I don’t know what the word is…longing, aching…..

Even at 11/12 ish, I knew that the line about “I said the years had been a friend to her and that her eyes were still as blue….and in those eyes I wasn’t sure if I saw doubt or gratitude” was some kind of beautiful poetry and heavy stuff.  I maybe didn’t understand exactly what that meant but it was sure pretty. 

To this day, anytime I hear that song and when he gets to the end telling how she got out of the car, watching her drive away and the snow turning to rain…..holy mutha of Harlan Howard….I just feel like bawling and I still get a knot in my stomach, feeling so bad for this poor guy, missing the old days, alone on Christmas Eve in the slush. 

A little bit after I got home, I heard that Dan Fogelberg died of prostate cancer.  I knew he had the same metastatic cancer that killed my father. Dan had been sick for awhile with that horrible disease.  He was not what I would call old either.  Boys….go get your PSA’s done.

Besides the Auld Lang Syne song, I was nuts about “Longer”, “Leader of the Band” and all that stuff Dan was famous for.  His album High Country Snows helped turn me onto Bluegrass in 1985.  It was not really traditional Bluegrass but that album, along with finding a Smithsonian collection in the closet  that featured Doc Watson’s Black Mountain Rag is what made me pay attention to Bluegrass, which ultimately wound up changing the direction of my interests and life and directed me towards Mr. Smiff.  Funny how music can do that.

So, one more time, Dan…

On Mary’s Lap…

I hate the memory card ran out only 30 seconds into the thing Mr. Smith, the Manchild, the Holy Tara and I did this morning at the choich.   However, you can hear my Holy Tara’s angelic sounding voice a little bit so listen…

Jolly Holly

alison-signs.jpg

There was a second part to the Alison Krauss thing the other day that I have to tell.  It was wonderful.

Our friend Holly, that we sing with some, is an incredibly talented high school junior who ADORES Alison.  When I found out Alison was taping at Hazel’s, I immediately tried to conspire to get Holly there to meet her.  I wanted to surprise her…like kidnap her and her be saying “Where are we going?” And then walk her in the house and voila! Alison Krauss.  That’s what we were going to do til I realized I told them the wrong day and it was not Friday but Tuesday.  Holly had a trip with her school’s show choir this last week to perform at the Biltmore. Her mom suggested we get her mandolin and have Alison sign it, which we did.

Thursday night, Holly was about to perform in the school’s Christmas concert so I took her mandolin to her.  First, she looked a little befuddled…”What is SHE doing here?”  (She didn’t say that but I know she was thinking it). 

I have to point out that Holly is a very poised and mature young lady.  She is quite reserved (when I’m around her) and I’ve never seen her act like a lot of teenaged girls do….kinda like the Holy Tara….all giggly and stuff. 

So, I go with Holly’s parents to find her and she came out and I said “Holly…I found your mandolin.  You better check it and make sure it’s ok.”  Again….the “????” look from Holly.  She took it out of the case and she was looking at the signature but Alison….well….let’s just say it’s a good thing she can sing.  Great at penmanship, she is not.   Holly couldn’t tell what it was at first.

Then, I pointed out the only really legible thing in the signature, which was the A.  This was Holly’s response:

happy-holly.jpg

She was so cute.  “You mean…..she TOUCHED MY mandolin?”  (Her mandolin’s name is “Amanda”…as in “A Mandolin.”)  I’ve gotten autographs for people before and stuff like this but to see somebody that joyful and surprised….much fun.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.