Archive for December 25th, 2007

An Open Letter To Aunt B. or Yes Ginger, I DO Have ADD

Dear Aunt B.,

Remember last Christmas I emailed you (something I’ve rarely done with you…no reason…me and you just haven’t emailed much) and I asked you for your address? The plan was I was going to address a card to you and the Butcher, stick a stamp on it, put it in the mail and send you my warmest wishes for a great Christmas and a Happy 2007.

Guess what I found in my car the other day? (oddly enough, I was searching high and low for the gift card I bought for the Engineering Brother In Law) Searching in between and under the caseats I found a perfectly addressed Christmas card to you and the Butcher. It even had a stamp on it and a cuter-than-cute return address label. I would’ve just stuck it in the mail, ‘cept postage has done gone up since then! I didn’t even tell Mr. Smiff about it cause he and the kids would’ve laughed at me and I don’t think I’d have handled it well.

This Christmas has been brought to you by the letters P-M-S or in other words, I have not been consistently the nicest gal in Hendersonville the last week.   My female parts are determined to give me hell just one more time before the “Endo Zap” that is soon coming and sure to provide some blog fun.  Hopefully, it will do its job and I can feel better.

So back to the story….a year late and a few dollahs short….Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you and the Butcher.

It reminds me of that time I checked this book out of the church library. The Christmas Box, it was called. I really and truly thought I turned it back in. I don’t think I ever even read the dang thing. This was probably in 2000 when I checked it out.

Mr. Otis was the man who was the church librarian (and has since gone on to Glow-ry). He kept asking me about that overdue book. “Mr. Otis”, said the Sista….”I turned that book in.” I really thought I did. For real. Mr. Otis would just look at me like I had three noses on my face everytime he’d ask me about it. I musta got 80 notices in the mail about that book.

This is the weird part, a few Christmases ago, in about 2003 or 2004, I got my Christmas stuff out and opened a box and what to my wonderin’ eyes did appear but….yep…The Christmas Box. There it was. Mr. Otis watched that library like a hawk. He knew of what he spoke.

What’s so weird is that VERY day I opened that box and found the book was the same day Mr. Otis died. No joke. I think that was him hollering from the Great Beyond saying “See? Told ya you dingaling.”

So to answer Ginger‘s question, ” Yes, Ginger…your Sista really has ADD.” (From an inside joke…not too long ago, Ginger thought I was just kidding about having ADD. Har har)

The Best of Christmas Past and Present

Because I’m a reflector and my middle name should be “Nostalgia”, there are some favorite scenes from Christmases past and present.  Some of these moments I was present for, others I was a twinkle in somebody’s eye but these are some of my favorite Christmas images.

christmas_1998.jpgChristmas 1998-look at my babies.

christmas-99.jpgThen in 1999….

I was 19 years away from being born at this Christmas, but I LOVE this picture of my cousins Doug and Brian, Christmas 1950.brian___doug_collie.jpg

christmas_at_the_collie_s.jpgA Collie Classic here….this would’ve been, probably Christmas 1972.  Look at Mom’s hair….heh.  You can tell she hadn’t yet had her first cigarette and cup of coffee yet.

i_have_to_share_this_one_.jpgMy cousin, Anne at Christmas, 1952.  (These cousin pictures are first cousins. Most of them are old enough to be my parents).  This picture has always made me think Natalie Wood & Edmund Gwenn.  I love it.

look_what_santa_brought_.jpgChristmas, 1996.  The first Christmas we lived in our house.  This picture of the Manchild makes me want to cry.  This picture makes me  hear his lisp and inability to pronounce his “r’s”. He’d say “Fain” for “train”…we didn’t want him to say the word “truck.”

christmas_1975.jpgChristmas 1975-my Uncle Jack.  He had a 2 million dollar smile.    (Dig that tree!)

sharon___kids.jpgChristmas 2004 at Cousin Terry’s…and another from that same evening when we sent Christmas welcome_home.jpggreetings to Terry’s stepson who was in Iraq.

proud_grandmother.jpgChristmas 1996…my nephew was brand-new.  One of my favorite pictures, ever of the Holy Tara.

100_8115.jpgChristmas, 2006-Party at the Mothership when Ivy sang that Chris Ledoux song.

channel-5.jpgWho remembers this? (Pretty much exclusive to Nashvillians) Another Nashville Christmas memory, that I never experienced, but, would’ve LOVED to is the Nativity that was at Centennial Park from 1953-1967.

nativity.jpg

Merry Christmas

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.