Archive for September 12th, 2008

Yoots

This is whats been going on at my house tonight.

Teenaged girls like to take pictures of themselves.

They like to eat.

They like to take pictures of themselves doing stuff like this. (We used to do stuff like this to back in the olden days)

They like it when fellers come around.

They sho do love to laugh and have a good time. 

I wonder if they’ll go to sleep before 5?  My bets are no.

Charlie Walker

Back in the early 70′s. the Collie’s went to visit the Charlie Walker’s at their home in Hendersonville.  My sister and I were little girls and we were standing at the top of the stairs, fighting over a doll when suddenly, Sandra sailed down the big ol’ staircase, rendering her unconscious momentarily.  (I think.)

Every SINGLE time I saw Charlie Walker for the rest of his life, be it at the Opry or the last time I saw him a year ago Easter at the Springhouse at the Brunch (Charlie was a big golfer) he would ask me “Now, were you the one that fell down my stairs?”  Heh. Nope. Still wasn’t me, Cholly.

Charlie’s passing today in Hendersonville is quite a bittersweet one.  (Here she goes…her Dad and Charlie) Yep…Dad and Charlie went all the way back to their very beginnings in radio in San Antonio, Texas.  In fact, most of my family in San Antonio knew Charlie and some of his older children (the man was fruitful and multiplied, folks.  To the tune of 10 kids, ranging in age now from upper 50′s to young adult. One of his girls was a professional basketball player and I believe, was, and may still be, a commentator for the WNBA).  Charlie and Biff were born the same week, actually, and now that Charlie’s gone, there’s only one or two of his contemporaries left, meaning the guys that started in radio around about the same time and were good, good buddies til Dad died in 1992.   T. Tommy’s gone…Joe Allison, Tom Perryman is still alive and kicking and on the air in Tyler, Texas. 

Charlie was a radio man, but, he was the voice behind one of my favorite hardcore, country records ever…this one right here. I wonder how many times in my life I saw Charlie Walker go on the Opry stage and sing this Harlan Howard gem? More times than I can count.

You Don’t Have To Call Me Darlin’….

This is a week I’m glad to see come to an end. Not so much that it’s been bad, but, it’s just been kinda bad, ya know? 

So, my contribution to this Feel Good Friday is a little David Allan Coe cause I feel like singing at the top of my lungs and hope you will do the same from where you’re at.  (I just love how wonderfully awful some of the videos on You Tube are!)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.