Monday, January 18, 2010 at 11:06pm | Edit Note | Delete

I wanted to get Trevor tonight to see Mom since she was quite alert today. He had been with The Grascals all weekend and had not seen her since Friday night before all the C02 issues happened and the for real, serious decline began.

Terry has been talking with Trevor about what’s happening and he was pretty clear on what all is going on. I haven’t had a chance to really talk about it with him so we got to talk in the car on the way to the hospital.

Talking about this and that…Trev had some questions and we’re having a nice chat about what alls been going on the last few days. I brought up how soon, Mimi would be with my Dad again. To that, Trevor said this-

“Well, I don’t know how Charles is gonna feel about that.”

Trevor wasn’t trying to be funny or sarcastic. He was serious. My Dad had been gone for years before he was born in 1998. Mom married Charles in 1996. When Trevor thinks about his Mimi and “husbands”, he thinks of Charles. I guess he figured Charles was gonna be jealous or something. I told him that I don’t think there’s any jealousy in Heaven and this should not be an issue.

Trevor then went down his mental checklist of things he was wondering about and what would happen after Mimi goes on to Glory:

“What’s going to happen to her house?”

“Did Mimi write up a will?”

“What about her silverware? You know, you oughta get that cause you could use some more.”

We got to the hospital and in Mom’s room and I said “Mom, look whose here!” She opened her eyes and said “Hey Trevor! How’s it going?” (for the record, I don’t think I’ve ever heard my mom say “how’s it going” ever). He said “Hey Mimi….I’m doing fine” just like nothing was any different.

I knew Mom would get a huge kick out of the Charles comment because she tends to get a kick out of the things Trevor says. She laughed. She smiled a bit tonight. Kinda a “Reader’s Digest” version of her usual smile but I could tell she was smiling.

We laughed a lot tonight and she did too. Fabulous. I realize that as alert as she was this afternoon/evening, tomorrow could bring something totally different.

Driving home, Tara, Trevor and I were talking about the evening and all the stuff and in the middle of the conversation it dawned on me that I most likely will never have a “regualr” conversation with my Mom again-at least not in this life. There won’t be any more phone calls that begin with our usual greeting of “What’re you doin’?”

Geez.

