Archive for July 14th, 2006

Praying For Porter


Frank at Left of the Dial is talking about how Porter Wagoner was taken to the hospital today. We don’t yet what’s going on with him, but, I do know that he did have prostate cancer in the last couple of years. Hopefully, it’s not something related to that and he’ll be ok. Porter is a treasure and a uniquely Nashville icon.

I told the other day at Metroblogging one of my favorite moments…ever…regarding Porter. Another one occurred last summer when the Grascals were on the Opry. I was trying to take a picture of the Wagonmaster with the boys and didn’t turn the stupid camera on. Porter, in his West Plains, MO drawl said “You might arta turn it on, hawney.” Notice they’re laughing. Yes, it was at me, not with me. No, I wasn’t embarrassed.

Mr. Smiff is even in the picture Frank has up.

Your Secret’s Safe With Me

Somebody told me something yesterday that was supposedly to be kept really under wraps. “Don’t tell anybody” this person told me. It’s the kind of sensitive issue that is sooo sensitive, if it got out, it could affect their life in a serious way. (Nothing life threatening or nothing lurid or morally bad). This person repeatedly said, during the course of our conversation how important it was that what she told me did not get out. I told her I would not tell. I like this person very much and would not want anything bad to come to them. This person has had a real string of bad luck the last decade. Things can’t really get much worse for them. They’re kinda a lightening rod for bad stuff.

Anyhoo, I just saw this person talking to somebody. They greeted one another with the “Hiiiiii…how are you” kinda thing. I could tell by the body language that this person was telling this other individual exactly what they had told me yesterday. I watched their reaction and that kinda confirmed that they were telling this thing that was supposedly such a secret. I wonder how many other people they told? It’s not exactly a secret, is it?

I’m still not going to tell but I know at least, if it gets out and what she feared happening happens, it ain’t going to be cause I told.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.