I never thought I’d go to Dresden, TN.  I’ve heard of Dresden.  What Tennessean hasn’t, especially if you were a resident during the Ned Years?  I shore nuff went to Dresden today and couldn’t have had anymore fun had I gone to Gulf Shores.  I might have gotten a better tan had I gone to Gulf Shores, though.

You get in a car and ride a few hours west of Nashville with the Wonder Dawg and CLC, you are going to have some fantastic conversation and just an all around fun time.  There will be photos later to show some of our stops and adventures along the way.  Many laughs and stories told.  Boy, those two are full of stories.

I do want to tell y’all about an unexpected stop we made on the way to see the recovering Newscoma and Rodent Queen.  We ride into Camden and we saw the sign pointing to the memorial for Patsy Cline, Hawkshaw Hawkins and Cowboy Copas, marking the site where their plane crashed March 5, 1963.  We saw that sign and that the site was 3 miles off the main road and there was a collective "Turn around and let’s go". 

I’ve long been a fan and student of Patsy Cline.  I’ve read every book ever written about her, talked to many, many people who knew her, including her husband,  and have always been fascinated with her and the horrible plane crash that killed her when she was just 30 years old.    It was cloudy this morning and wet from yesterday’s rain.  The autumn colors there in the woods, the memorial, looking down into the area where the plane was found….it nearly got away with me to be there.  There was an eeriness to it.  Patsy_cline_2

There is a tree stump at the memorial where people have left different little things.  Normally, I’m not the type to ever think of leaving something at places like that.  That CLC and Wonder Dawg were all prepared (?) and I was thinking what in the world could I leave. 

Then, for some reason, I thought of the other Terry in the Grascals, not Mr. Smiff, but Eldredge.  I knew if he were there he’d leave something.  I had a Grascals key chain, so, I took that off and left it amongst Wonder Dawg’s "Bubba" teeth and CLC’s little thing he left.  Somehow, that was the perfect thing to leave from me and from Terry E.  (There will be a photo of it later).

We did finally make it to Dresden and it was so great to see Newscoma looking bright and chipper.  It was a beautiful drive out there.  We had some great food and a great visit.  Oh and Pumpkin Gooey Cake rocks.  I’ll give the recipe for that soon.

While we’re on the subject of Patsy and them, here’s a couple snapshots that were taken the night before the above mentioned plane crash of Hawkshaw and Cowboy.  One of my dad’s listeners sent them to him.  There’s a picture of Patsy the same night somewhere that I’ll have to find.

Cowboy_hawk