A moment of silence, please, for the Smiff Computer.  I think it’s safe to say, it’s downloaded it’s last Zeppelin song for the Manchild, posted its last My Space picture of the Drama Queen and its last Whiff of Smiff.  Bless it…it was a good ern.    After 5 years, I think it was just plumb tuckered out.

Because the computer died, I spent yesterday doing what I did back in the old days before I had a computer or a blog…I laid in the bed and watched old movie after old movie on TCM.  Oh lordy…it was a good old movie day and the perfect day to watch them. 

I started off at 9 a.m. with Oklahoma!  I know all the words to every song, but, that was the first time I’d ever seen the movie in its entirety.  I never knew Jud was a psycho.  Gordon McRae was just plain sexy and boy, could he sing.  Then, another one I’d never seen but knew about Member of the Wedding.  Julie Harris pulled off playing a 12 year old at 27 remarkably.  What a great story.  It’s worth it just to hear Ethel Waters sing His Eye Is On the Sparrow.

That Touch of Mink reminded me why Cary  Grant was such a legend.  Even then, in 1962 as he was approaching 60, he still had it going on.   

Then oh then oh then…Breakfast at Tiffany’s.  My last job there was a guy in the cubicle next to me who talked EXACTLY like George Peppard.  He sounded exactly like him.  I told him that and he didn’t know who George Peppard was and he was older than me.   "Does the A  Team ring a bell?"  I knew better than to ask if he’d seen BAT’s.  Speaking of Eva Cassidy, I’d have sure loved to hear her sing "Moon River."

So anyway, I’ll be in and out for the next bit.  I hope we break down and just get a new computer.  I’m online at Kinkos now, on my way to get Mr. Smiff from the airport.  He spent the night on 6th Avenue in New York City last night.  (New York City?!?!?)