Archive for February 20th, 2007

Le Yucko

Y’all, this is funny. I hope I can get across to you here how much this grossed me out and made me laugh at the same time.

I went and had my nails done, like I do every few weeks.  You know, you can take the girl out of Brentwood, but, you can never totally take Brentwood out of the girl, sorta thing.  Never mind I never had my nails done until I was 30 and living in Sumner County.  It’s just something I do for myself.  I also have short, stubby fingers and nails make them look somewhat graceful and not manly.

Anyway, I started going to this nail place here a couple months ago .  It’s run by your regular, Vietnamese people.  They start talking their native tongue to each other and I get all paranoid that they’re talking about me.  “Phillip” the nail guy (I love how they always give themselves American names) is a nice little guy, although I can barely understand him and he does have a stutter.  (There’s a sitcom for ya right there….a stuttering Vietnamese feller).  He always knicks my cuticles when he’s doing his thing and it usually brings blood, but, the groovy surroundings and the elevator music renditions of stuff like “Physical” and a revved up version of “Unchained Melody” make up for the physical pain. 

I always get stuck with this guy.  Always.  I think the girl that works in there must hate me and when they see me coming she goes “You get her.  Nah nah!”  He takes forever and it was hotter than hades in there this morning and I’m sitting there wishing the Vietnamese Mel Tillis would hurry up when I notice he has a hair on his chin/neck area.  Not a beard, but, one, single hair.  I thought maybe he was shedding and to my absolute horror, I see that it was sorta like those unwanted boogers I get in the same place, but, I have sense enough to use something on it to get it off.  Mel had let that one hair grow reallllllly long ON PURPOSE.  Part of me wanted to ask him why in the hayell did he have one, long, curly hair growing out of his neck?  Is that some Buddhist tradition?  Is he trying to get in the Guiness Book of World Records for long, single hairs?

I think he was purposely trying to make me gag.  He did a good job of it.  I had noticed it last time I was there a few weeks ago, but, it was much shorter.  What could he be trying to accomplish here? 

There’ll Never Be Anyone Else But You

Wilburn Brothers – 1963 – Show Opening, Song…

Yay…You Tube is finally working right. 

I had the priviledge of knowing these guys, Teddy & Doyle Wilburn, and I’m saying right here and now they belong in the Country Music Hall of Fame.  They started their careers as little boys, singing on a street corner with their family in Missouri.  Roy Acuff discovered them and brought them to the Opry, but, because of child labor laws, they weren’t able to stay on. 

Besides being great singers, they were pioneers in the bidness in so many other ways: music publishing, artist management, country music on television….had it not been for these two, you probably would’ve never known Loretta Lynn or Patty Loveless.  They discovered them both, in fact, they taught Loretta the ins and outs of being a performer and a songwriter.  Teddy helped her with lots of her songs and didn’t take any songwriter credit on them.  He even bought her her first high heeled shoes.  They put so much into Loretta, they pretty much ignored the career of Doyle’s then -wife, (and one of my mother’s closest friends) Margie Bowes, who was, and still is, a phenomenal singer.  They weren’t included in Coal Miner’s Daughter because there was a long going lawsuit between them and Loretta and I don’t think Doyle cared for how they would be portrayed.

After Doyle died in 1982, Teddy lost interest in the music business and concentrated on his antique interests.  Remember the Art Deco shop on Music Row? That was his.  Teddy could’ve remained an important figure in the industry had he wanted to.  It’s a shame he didn’t.  He was very wise.

The brothers were both rather complex characters, both with their own demons, rather on the hot-headed side, but, both great characters and good guys.  I’m proud to have been able to be around them both and have some great memories of being with them and the whole Wilburn clan.

It wasn’t until Teddy died in 2003, at his funeral service, that I realized that he and Doyle had played a big part in my life, on into adulthood in an indirect way.  See, Mr. Smiff worked for the Osborne Brothers for 13 years.  The Osbornes were also discovered by the Wilburns and credit them for every success they had.  So indirectly, Teddy and Doyle were responsible for us eating the first 13 years me and Mr. Smiff were together.  That sorta got all over me that day. 

This is a great clip. 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.