bob-barker.jpgWhen Mr. Smiff and them did the Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson about a month ago, he returned from Television City bearing souvenirs for us.  One of the things he brought back was a cool tshirt that has The Price is Right logo on it.  It’s really pretty neat and it’s one of my favorite tshirts.

It never fails, that everytime I wear said shirt out in public, somebody always asks me “Were you on the Price is Right?”  Then, I have to tell the same story over and over.  Today, I got a better story back when I said “No, I wasn’t on it.” 

I was at Kroger and this young girl was checking me out and she asked the same question “Were you on?”  Blah blah blah, no….then she tells me her boyfriend was on.  (Oh goodie, I don’t have to tell the boring “My husband was on the Craig Ferguson things.”)  She said his show aired in February and he won a Cadillac, a poker table and a year’s supply of Gold Bond Medicated stuff.  They sold the cadillac and were trying to sell the poker table.  What does a young guy do with a year’s supply of Gold Bond?

I know somebody that was on the PIR. Do you know anybody that’s ever been on?  I can’t imagine that show staying on after Bob “Spay Your Pet” Barker retires in a couple months.  Who else could hold the skinny microphone like Bob does?  It’s bad enough that whoever is doing the “Come on Down” honors is disturbing to hear, much like it was to hear Kermit the Frog or Ernie after Jim Henson died.  We got used to Rod Roddy, who replaced Johnny Olson when he died, but, man…the Come on Downs just aren’t the same.  I’m guessing the show will stop when Bob quits.

