My mother, ever the pessimist who believes the glass IS empty and that computers are of the Devil,  is known for her stern safety warnings to her grown daughters, such as “It’s Friday night…all the drunks are out” and her famous “Watch out for lesbians in Atlanta.” 

She’s brought down another wise warning, this time, to my sister who is on vacation in New York City (New York City?) this week.  I think this one might be better than the lesbian warning….it’s pretty good:

“Don’t let the subway doors close on you.”

Like they’re going to get on the subway and just stand in the doorway?  I think they’ve watched enough movies to know that maybe one should move at a quick pace when boarding a subway in the Big Apple. 

Something else funny about this New York trip and my sister is going to kill me, and you might think you are smack dab in the middle of a Dry Spot post, but, that’s what she gets for texting me at 3:50 a.m. to tell me.  I usually wake up for a bit between 3 and 4:00 in the morning.  I don’t know why, but, I do.  I heard Nat King Cole on my cell phone (Nat announces my text messages) and wondered who in the world would be messaging me at that hour and it was my sister telling me that she had a gigantic hemorroid, that should be perfect for traveling. 

She texted me a little later telling they were on the ground in New York, along with some snow.  I asked her if the hemorroid enjoyed the flight and she said her everything felt good thanks to the Ativan.  Heh.

