That TGIF is pronounced just as my late Uncle Huey, from Colfax, LA would say it.  Whew! Boy howdy, it’s been a long week and I can’t remember a Friday I was so glad to see in a long time.  We’ve made it though.  We’re all in one piece.  Hazel no longer has the tube in her nose and had some broth this evening.  (Woo hoo!)  I haven’t been up there today yet, but, knowing her the way I do, I’m sure she’s in a much better frame of mind. 

We did get some news we’re not so crazy about.  It looks like she’ll have to have a little radiation, however, it could be worse.  Just a few cancer cells had spread. It can be dealt with. 

  I remember with my Dad how important attitude is when you’re dealing with cancer.   When he went for his 6 year checkup for his prostate cancer, the doctor showed him his chart where he had intially given him a 3 year prognosis.  He lived for 9 years.  I know part of that had to be because he had a good attitude.  I’m sure there moments of fear and uncertainty, but, he was amazing.  After watching Hazel deal with all she has this week, radiation will be a piece of cake.  Her will is strong.  She’s as stubborn as the day is long. 

 I expect to be dealing with my mother in law when I’m in my 60’s and she’s in her 90’s.  You’ll see us over at the Piccadilly on Fridays after I’ve taken her to Krogah and to get her hair washed.  (That’s what Granny Boone used to call it). 

Interestingly, my new job has stirred something in me that has been there since I was about 11 and has never quite gone away.  It surfaces every so often and I talk myself out of it.  Maybe that’s why I’m where I’m at?  I don’t know.  Stay tuned….

Again…thank you to everybody who has prayed a prayer, thought a good thought, or whatever.  I have hospital duty tonight.  I’ll tell her how wonderful all the blog readers have been.  It will mean a lot to her.

