pearle_gentle.jpgI think about her every June 4.  I guess because she was born on June 4, 1897, in Adair County, Kentucky.  She would be 110 if she were still around.  Her name was Pearl, but, she was “Grandma” to all of her grandkids.

She was the only grandparent I really have clear, vivid memories of and remember conversing with her and having a relationship with her.  To this day, anytime I smell raisin toast, I think of her.  Same with oatmeal.  She ate that every single day for breakfast.

She died in 1984 at the ripe, old age of 87.  I was 15 when she died and her mind had gone to another place a couple years before that.  I would love to have a little chat with her now at 38 years old. She would grandma_reads.jpgprobably ask me how much I weigh and if I was wearing a brasseire yet.

