A couple years ago, I started noticing Neil Orne talking about his “blog” and seeing these commercials, usually very early in the morning, on Channel 2 for something called “Nashville Is Talking.”  I checked it out and the first blogs I remember reading were those of Neil, Busy Mom and Rex L. Camino.  I found the blogs to be entertaining and interesting and remember thinking “I could do that.”  I started me a blog and wrote a couple entries and thought I sounded stupid (kinda like listening to yourself on a tape recorder) and I just kinda left it there.  I still read the blogs regularly and picked up blogging again in December, 2005 on a regular basis. 

I think it was in January, 2006, I sheepishly emailed this girl named Brittney who was over Nashville Is Talking and said something like “Can you add my blog? If you don’t want to, that’s ok.”  HA! 

Brittney added my silly little blog and in a weird sort of way, helped to change my life.  That may sound strange, but, really, this little spot on the world wide web has changed my life in ways I never dreamed. Yeah, I’ve met people and stuff, but, it’s done something more for me inside than I can really adequately explain. 

Brittney has done an amazing job the last two years manning the NiT steering wheel.  Everytime I’ve done the weekend thing, I’ve had more appreciation for what Brittney did everyday.  I will miss her being at NiT everyday, but, praise the Lord, Sparkwood and 21 is still going.  I think there are great things awaiting our girl from here on out.  I hope she’ll come out and around this crazy bunch of people she’s helped to bring together. Brittney’s a good girl.  I hate she’s gotten burned out, but, good-ness, I can see how/why she has.  That’s why I have no desire to be paid to write. 

I’ve done a little professional writing and I like doing this right here a lot more.  This Brittney situation here is also why I don’t like to blog about politics or issues.  Arguing about that stuff is not fun to me.  It is to some, I guess and that’s dandy.   It hurts my feelings when people talk bad about Christians, but, I make it a point to try to avoid the blogs I know are going to be talking hateful about me and my kind.  That way, I can still like them as people and appreciate who they are and we just skip that sorta thing.  Ya dig?  It works out just fine. 

That said, I’m sorry to see Brittney give up her post.  Maybe she just needs a good vacation.  Either way, she’s a darling and very talented person and she’s going to do very well whatever direction she takes.

