Amazing

When I was a kid, CBS television would air “That’s Entertainment” at least once a year and it was a major event. It was for me, anyway. This was before cable and this movie is what I blame for making me fall in love with old movies and musicals. I’ve seen it no telling how many times. One of my favorite things ever.

TCM (my favorite channel) aired “That’s Entertainment” early this morning and I recorded it. I know I have it on a VHS tape somewhere but I haven’t seen it in a long time.

Me and Mr. Smiff love to watch this and marvel at the clips of Gene Kelly, Cyd Charisse, The Nicholas Brothers, Judy Garland, Frank Sinatra, etc. I love the clip of Astaire dancing with the coat rack and on the ceiling…Gene Kelly was a freak of nature…but this clip with Fred Astaire and Eleanor Powell makes me want to cry it’s so incredible. It makes me want to buy me some tap shoes and get back in the closet like I used to do at my cousin’s house when I was little. Seriously…I love this clip. Frank was right when he said “We’ll never see the likes of this again.” Enjoy.

