I’m going to do my Reunion Report in an installment or two cause if I don’t, this would be the longest post ever recorded. So many neat moments and reunions with different people, I still haven’t been able to process it all. 

Funny how when you go to these things, thinking about it later…it’s heavy.  On the one hand, we’re all closer to 40.  Some of us are heavier than the last reunion, some are balder, some have more gray hair, some look better now than they did in high school.  Some people, the mere sight of them conjures up memories you’ve kept locked away for years, both good and bad.  It’s a neat experience and I highly recommend it to everybody. Even if you hated high school.  Nobody hated school more than me.

As I was going down 65 South to Cool Springs Saturday evening, I was thinking that like in 1997, the Franklin High reunion was going to be the good one and the Brentwood High reunion (for me) would be ehhh.  It was kinda/sorta the other way around.

The turnout for the FHS reunion was not so great.  I shouldn’t say that.  It was a nice party.  I heard the food was good but I never got any cause I was busy going back and forth from the FHS reunion to the Brentwood High reunion next door. 

Lesli Pace Claiborne and Crew did a great job putting it together and I certainly don’t want to make it sound like it was not a well planned and executed event.  I was kinda surprised at the seemingly low turnout.  I don’t know how many kids graduated in the class of 1987, but, it was a big class. I’m not good at guessing crowd numbers, but, it was much less than what we had in ’97.  The FHS reunion resembled a nursing home social hour.  God love Candy Barnhill for trying to get all the old farts out on the dance floor. 

Do not get me wrong….I was happy, happy to see my friend Patrick, who I haven’t seen in about…gosh, 6 or 7 years.  In fact, I’d have paid the $75 bucks just to see him.  Funny how some people you can go years without seeing and you just sorta slip back into your thing.  Patrick’s one of those friends.  Even as sophisticated and worldly and traveled as that boy is, he’s still the same. 

It sounds like Patrick’s Playa days will soon be coming to an end and this makes your Sista very happy. The women on the East Coast will be so sad.  He looked fabulous.patrick-and-brian.jpgfabulous. Even Holy Tara commented on how “cute” Patrick is.  (You hear that, Patrick?)  Oh geez, if he ever reads this, he will have a duck cause I wrote about him and put his picture online. 

With him here is Dr. Brian Gannon, who was his next door neighbor.  Brian was the valedictorian of the class of 87 and probably one of the nicer human beings around.  He is a pediatrician in Owensboro with a beautiful wife and family.  Brian is more proof that the geeks  always come out on top.  Yay for Brian.  Great guy.

I am kicking myself cause I didn’t take a picture of me and Patrick, however, somebody took a picture of us for some magazine in Franklin and she said it would be in the sharon___patrick.jpgSeptember issue.  I can’t remember the name of the publication, so you Franklin people watch for that for me, mmmk?  

I was going to keep the recaps of the two schools separate, but, what they hay….from the “I Don’t Recall Him Being So Hotwes-david-preston.jpgHot Department”the winner is…..Wes Beasley.  This is a guy I go back to First Grade with.  Wes is the tall one in the blue shirt.  The guy in the middle is David Kinchler who has his own freakin’ bank!  I asked him if it was called “Dave’s Bank.”  Ha.  Funny Sista.  Preston Bain is the other guy.  Lordy, lordy, Preston Bain was just in the backdrop of my childhood.  His daddy was the onetime mayor of Brentwood.  We swam at the same pool.  Preston is one of those familiar faces that I just adore.  
Anyhoo, back to Reunion Hottie Wes… I remember in 5th grade,  Wes was obsessed with the Washington Redskins.  The marketing tools for kids weren’t quite what they are today, but, remember those NFL jackets boys used to wear?  They had vinyl like sleeves and you could get one with all the various NFL teams.  I think even in a school picture or two, Wes was decked out in his Redskins finest.   

David was cracking me up reminiscing about our school’s poster child for “Kids Who Were Never Diagnosed With ADHD But Should’ve Been.”  Ours was Phillip Leverette.  In 5th grade, somebody (probably David) busted open a golf ball and somehow, the toxic stuff in the middle got in Phillip’s eyes or mouth or something.  Drama. 

I would say David wins the award for “Least Changed Since 5th Grade.”  He’s exactly the same, just taller. 

I spotted Jessica Reeves (who looks like she could be Shirley McLaine’s kid) and immediately she told a story on me from jessica-and-jenny.jpg6th grade.  We were at a slumber party and because we were so hip, we were doing some serious prank calls back and forth with some boys who had found out there was a hen party going on.  They asked “We’re doing a survey and want to know what kind of feminine products you use” and I took the phone and said, (according to Jessica) very calmly and confidently, “I happen to use an old tube sock.”  Jessica says she was impressed with my man parts.  Hee.  I forgot about that.

 Jessica uses the pseudonym Clyde Forth and is an artist and dancer in New York.  Jessica had perfect fingernails.  As a kid who chewed their nails constantly, I admired the girls who had good nails.  I remember one time, she whipped out her scissors from her schoolbox and cut the perfect nails off right there in class. 

In the picture with Jessica/Clyde is another girl who had great fingernails…Jenny Harmon.  Me and Jenny were good pals in 7th grade.  We were a pretty good match in terms of retardedness.  I understand Jenny is in the “jewelry” business.  Unh huh.  

One more picture and I’m going to stop.  These four girls were all in Mrs. Campbell’s First Grade in 1975-76.  I love laura-holly-jami.jpgthis picture.  I was good buddies with Laura Teague (far left) and not as much close with Holly and Jami, but, boy, this makes me warm and fuzzy.  I thought Holly was gonna wet her pants when I recollected as to how she was moved up to First Grade from Kindergarten in the middle of the year.  I remember as clearly as 5 minutes ago, some kid asking her why she came to First Grade and she told him, with her lisp….”Becauth I’m thmart.”

More memories to come. 

