Archive for August 8th, 2007

Don’t Take Your Love To Town

Because I like to remember what Kenny Rogers used to look like before he got all caught up in plastic surgery and remember the days he played bass and sang with The First Edition…..but, mostly to give a nod to the fantabulous Mel Tillis,the newest member of the Country Music Hall of Fame, who wrote this great song. I couldn’t figure out which Mel Tillis song I love the most…this one or Detroit City or Heart Over Mind…or I Ain’t Never or A Violet and a Rose…or Mental Revenge….

There’s been discussion today over at Music City Bloggers about who doesn’t deserve to be in the Hall of Fame. Mel deserves it.  If you want to see who is already in the Hall of Fame, go here.

The Purse Police Is On Patrol

I need a new purse.  I did not know this until yesterday. 

 I don’t care about purses.  I’m not the kinda gal that collects handbags or gives a roaring whiff about them (unlike some people.) I am too poor to care about purses. I have three kids, for the love of Imelda Marcos. 

Yesterday, I had to go on an errand with a co-worker.  We get in the car and she says to me “Girl, you need a summer purse! That is a winter purse!”  (Her precursor to the statement with “Girl!” gave me pause. I hate it when people say that) She was horrified that I’m still carrying the purse I bought at Old Navy in December that I got on sale for $10.  I have had more compliments on my winter purse, even in the summer.  I will carry it until it falls apart.  That’s just what I do.  Forgive me for such a fashion faux pas.

I explained to Girl that I  don’t care about purses.  She goes on a tangent about how her family all bought her Chaps (or something like that) purses for Christmas.  Whoop. Tee. Doo.

This is the same girl who didn’t think my lip gloss was cool or poppin’ a couple months ago.  She said “WHAT is that on  your lip?”  I guess she thought I had the herpes or something.  Girl is gonna catch me on a bad day and I will have to rip her a new arse-hole. 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.