Let’s talk some Tom Sawyer, shall we?

Tom Sawyer has made a triumphant return to our house.  He showed up awhile back, briefly, when the Manchild first started his Heavy Metal Odyssey and discovered the Rush song of the same title.

Tom made another appearance a couple weeks back when #2 had read a condensed/reading level appropriate version at school a couple weeks back.  He was into the story, the characters, etc.  I made the comment I needed to rent the movie from Netflix that Holy Tara watched over and over and over about 10 years ago, starring Johnny Whitaker as Tom and Jodie Foster as Becky Thatcher. Oh lordy, that child watched that movie a million times.  We’d rent it weekly from Blockbuster (pre-dvd and it was no longer available on VHS) and she’d sing those songs constantly. 

A few days after that, I woke early and whaddya know, the Retro channel was showing Tom Sawyer. I was able to record it and #2 digs it.  He was particularly interested in Injun Joe killing that guy.  Isn’t that great?!?!? My kid likes murder.

Another coolish thing about it is that Holy Tara has watched it several times and praise the Lord got the book and is reading it for AR at school.  She does not like to read AT ALL. 

We may have found a formula in getting her to read books that are also movies.  Next up on the list to read is “To Kill A Mockingbird.”  She watched that movie with me when she was about 5 and she LOVED it  Why didn’t we think of this before?

Back to Tom Sawyer…I’m sure there were probably more critically acclaimed versions of the movie made, but, I just adore this one.  Probably because I adore Johnny Whitaker.  Maybe it’s cause he was Jody on Family Affair   or cause he was in Sigmund and the Sea Monsters  but I LOVE Johnny Whitaker.  (Yes…I had a Mrs. Beasley doll.  Did you?) Buffy was big with the Collie Girls.  We called (and still to this day) ponytails like Buffy wore “Buffy Tails.” 

Uncle Bill was the hottest uncle in town who knew how to tell about the birds and the bees! I always wanted big door knobs like Uncle Bill’s doors to his bachelor pad.

Family Affair also had the coolest opening credits ever, didn’t they?

Johnny ended up being a productive member of society and currently hosts a radio show in LA.  I believe he teaches acting and makes appearances at tv conventions and stuff.  Thing is, as good a kid actor as he was, I’m sure his ability didn’t magically disappear when he turned 21.  I bet he’d be great in some sort of character role with a face like that.  I think his old screen partner (to whom Big John gave her first screen kiss to) Jodie Foster oughta demand he be in one of her movies.  I want some Johnny Whitaker, by golly!

Oh yeah…This was supposed to be a post glorifying Tom Sawyer…get this movie for your kids. (Adderall only lasts about 12 hours, y’all) I promise they’ll be all up in the story.  The songs (written by the Sherman Brothers who wrote the songs for Mary Poppins and Chitty Chitty Bang Bang) are great and Johnny along with Celeste Holm, Jodie Foster and Warren Oates bring it to life.

Oh and don’t forget…EVERY little boy can be President! (You Tube didn’t have any clips of Tom and Huck singing “Gratifaction”, dangit) This clip makes me laugh so hard I need to pee.  “Abe-abe-Abraham…”. 

