I did it.  I went and read the whole thing about Glenn Beck’s nightmare during his recent “minor” surgery.  I had heard a bleep and blurb about something he went through but didn’t get the whole tale til just now (thanks a heap, Gingah

Kat mentioned in the comments about how she always has to be reminded to breathe in the recovery room.  The last time I had surgery (ironically, 8 years ago this week) the first thing I remember in the recovery room was asking for something to drink and the nurse saying “You breathe a couple times for me and I’ll give you something.”

I’m always a little nervous about going out.  I think it’s the fact that you are totally at somebody else’s mercy, usually, a stranger you’ve never met before you arrive at the hospital. 

 I don’t think there’s such a thing as “minor” whenever you are knocked out and your person cut on in some form or fashion.

I’m not the mess I was on the eve of the first surgery I ever had back in 1993.  I was borderline hysterical before that one. I’m trying to focus on the fact that hopefully, after tomorrow, I will feel like a new person and be saying “I wish I had have had this done years ago” and enjoying my day in the bed, hopefully, having Mr. Smiff wait on me hand and foot and pamper the pee-waddling out of me.  (snicker)

I also keep thinking of a verse my friend/mentor, Debbie has quoted many, many times…Isaiah 43:1 Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by your name; you are Mine.”  

I don’t know if “fear” is the right word.  I’m not ridiculously anxious.  I’m not so much worried about the post-op pain or even waking up in the middle of the Zap-a-lap-a-ding-dong. (Geez…that would be crappy wouldn’t it?) I know I’m in good hands with Dr.McDreamy/Lyle Lovett  and I know I’m also in His hands.

Still, I’ll be pretty tickled this time tomorrow when I can do my post-op blog post and tell y’all the funny stuff I said when coming out of the fog. I’ll have Mr. Smiff keep good notes.

