I’ve been meaning to do a post about this for awhile but wanted to wait til after Christmas.

My former doctor, Matt Yuill, lost his beautiful wife, Rochellerochelle_pink.jpg to breast cancer this past October.  Rochelle was only 33 years old and the mother of a 3 year old son.

It’s so hard to wrap your head around a young mother to be being told she has breast cancer when pregnant, but, that’s what happened to Rochelle.   She was a succesful dentist (she actually worked out of my office at one time).

I saw the Yuill’s at the swimming pool this summer and had no idea that she was ill.  They looked like a perfect little family enjoying the pool on a hot, summer day.  I had no clue then or the times I had been in Dr. Yuill’s office complaining about being depressed cause I lost my job, whine, whine….can you give me something for poor, pitiful me? Gah.

I also go to church with  Rochelle’s mother and stepfather, knew their daughter was sick but didn’t connect the dots that she was Dr. Yuill’s wife.  Duh. Rochelle’s dad is the former mayor of Hendersonville, as well.

Dr. Yuill is not practicing medicine as much now because he is devoting himself to his little boy and he is also devoting himself to finding a cure for Breast Cancer.

I wish I could get across here what a great guy Dr. Yuill is and what an attentive physician he was to me and so many other people. It’s so ironic that he has had to endure what he has, considering his line of work.  I hate that he’s not praciticing now but I also understand his first obligation is to that sweet little boy.

I’ve always had a time talking to doctors but Dr. Yuill is one of the easiest docs to talk to.   Dr. Millspaugh, who I go to now and who is a good friend of Dr. Yuill’s is also easy to talk to.  It must be the younger generation of docs. I don’t know.  I like both of these guys a lot.  Dr. Millspaugh is also a blogger.  He’s a good, thorough, doctor, but, I love the fact that my doc blogs.  Hee.

Anyway, Dr. Yuill has started the Rochelle Foundation in memory of his wife.  Along with the Tennessee Affiliates of the Susan G. Komen for the Cure (Knoxville, Tri-Cities, Upper Cumberland, Memphis and Chattanooga) they are trying to get a special license plate.  The license plate has been approved by the Tennessee Legislature and all they need, before the plates can go in production  is pre-sell 1000 plates before  July 1, 2008.  The plates are $35.  If they don’t sell the required number of pre-production of plates, they will return the money to you, but, see…that ain’t gonna happen.  We’re going to get all these 1000 plates pre-sold, aren’t we?

All of us have been touched by breast cancer in some way.  My good friend Janice, is a survivor and I lost my aunt Juniethe_profile.jpg (we laugh about this picture of Junie because it looks just like my profile. Hee) to breast cancer when she was just 50 years old. I’m buying my plate in honor of Janice and in memory of Rochelle and Junie.  Think of someone you love who has fought this horrible disease and fork over that $35, would ya?

You can go right here to get your license plate. 

