A couple summers ago on a Friday at the end of Vacation Bible School, #2 told me on the trampoline in the backyard he wanted Jesus in his heart.

Today, #2 decided, unbeknownst to me, that this was the day he wanted to let everybody know that he had trusted Jesus as his Savior and be baptized.  This was not something I or anybody else prodded him to do.  Totally his choice.

Any of us who are followers of Christ, one of the greatest joys we have is seeing our children make that step in their own faith journey.  I’m pretty happy to have seen all three of my children make that decision.  It’s the beginning for #2 .

I was the exact same age he is when I made that step.  I didn’t totally get it, but, I got what I needed to understand at the time and I have grown with it in the almost 30 years since.

I can tell you one thing, I’ve never regretted choosing the Jesus way at all. It has not meant that my life is perfect and that I was suddenly stripped of any sin in my life. I didn’t suddenly turn into Snow White and have bluebirds chirping on my shoulder.  I’ve fought, and still fight, many battles.  It has never meant that I have never uttered a cuss word,  said something about somebody I shouldn’t have, done things I’ve regretted, given in to things I would’ve been better off not giving into, that I haven’t hurt somebody’s feelings with my words or actions…It’s not going to be that for #2 either.

We’re just sinners saved by grace is all.  And very grateful.

I tell you that in the same way there will be more rejoicing in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who do not need to repent. Luke 15:7

