I missed the initial, exaggerated reports earlier in the week of Slim Whitman’s demise. I’m trying to think of where I was and how in the world I missed such news (or un-news).

I have a connection to Slim and I do think it’s cool.The Dad produced Slim back in the early 70’s when he was with United Artists Records.

I can remember the time Slim came to our house for supper. I don’t know exactly how old I was, but, I couldn’t have been more than 4 years old.

I remember the mustache and I think my sister and I were more impressed with the stuffed Woody Woodpecker he brought us than anything. I do remember, as little as I was, that Slim had very distinct eyes that stood out.
It sorta pains me now that people didn’t always have cameras at the ready back in those days like we do now. There are some good pictures of my parents with all sorts of famous people, but, sadly, there are a ton of missed opportunities that I would kill to have photos of. The Supper with Slim is one of those things.

At any rate, I’m glad Slim is still amongst us.

