I don’t understand the love affair people have with Panera.  I have one practically in my backyard.  I’ve eaten at it once since it was built.  I found it very mediocre.

Today, my co-workers wanted to go there.  “Oh it’s my favorite place to eat” said They.    Ok, so maybe I was wrong and that one time I was there was an off day. I will give it another shot.

Nope.

I don’t get it.   I’m not hard to please with food.  The Chicken Salad was, at best, mediocre.  I’ve had the soup in the bread bowl and I found it sorta nasty-ish. 

What is it that I’m missing here?  It must be the same, tragically unhipness thing I have that causes me to miss what’s so great about Starbucks.  I do like the atmosphere at Starbucks.  I like the Frappacino’s (on occasion) but coffee-wise?  Give me Folger’s anyday over that stuff that never fails to leave an after-taste with me.

I tried, people…I really tried. I am hopeless in the Hip Department, I’m ‘fraid.

