I know it’s the anniversary of MLK’s assassination today.  Still, April 4 makes me think of Pop.  One of my favorite posts I’ve ever done is still the one I did about him a couple years back.  (Not patting myself on the back…ok so maybe I am)

The older I get, the more I wish I could have five minutes with the Old Man.  Here’s him and me taking a little nap.

pop_takes_a_nap.jpg

Gosh, he had a fabulous sense of humor.  Look at him laughing here.  From whence doth my twistedness come?  I think straight from him.  The guy kissing his wife would be one Jimmy Dean.  Yep. That one.

big_bad_john_visits_mariposa.jpg

I love this picture taken 59 years ago today.  No, I wasn’t there.  But I love this picture cause everybody was so young.  Even my grandparents.  My dad is sitting in the front.  It looks just like the Manchild.  Well, without the long hair and black, heavy metal tshirt.

j_g_collie_birthday_1949.jpg ( I love old pictures of anybody. Even if I don’t know the people in them)

One of these days, I’m going to do a post about his childhood home up by Land Between The Lakes and the whole thing about how the TVA came in and moved everybody out. 

Til then…if you haven’t read about my grandfather, who was born on this date in 1895, take a peek at this.

