It’s a worn out cliche’ that I tend to use too often, but, has it really been 7 years since the world has had John Hartford walking around? 

I remember the first time I ever met John.  I guess I was about 15 or 16.  I’d never seen anybody who looked like him and he had this…way about him, that I’d never seen on anybody before or since.   I am not so sure where we were but when Dad introduced me to him, instead of the old handshake or whatever, he tipped his signature Derby hat and totally won me over. I didn’t know who he was at that point but I was smitten.

I used to go hear John’s String band a lot in the late 80’s. This stuff made me want to have fiddles at my wedding, which I had.

Of late, I have been slayed with this particular Hartford song that I play over and over and over on the Ipod…this version here is by John’s son, Jamie (who I’ve always thought should be a huge star…good grief that boy can sing) and I put this one up so you can hear the story behind the song.

This is extremely cool here. Video quality isn’t so great, but, you can hear it good…love it.

 

