Archive for August 26th, 2008

What’s Happenin’ Hot Stuff?

The Princess of All Thangs Of A Dramatic Nature was watching some show on the tv.  I recognized one of the men on there from Doogie Howser.  I think he played Doogie’s dad.  Anyway, this show looked like one of those 7th Heaven kinda shows (don’t tell nobody this, but, I got sucked into that show back when the aformentioned Princess was into that. Sheesh) with the perfect looking teenaged girls that you want to slap, right? 

I only turned to look at this thing for about 15 seconds, long enough to see Doogie’s dad and the woman playing the mom.  I liked to have had a duck when it dawned on me who was playing the MOM.

Do what?  Why’s Molly Ringwald playing a mom of teenagers, for the love of Long Duck Dong?  I mean, she just had her 16th birthday and everybody forgot it and….wait.  That was 1984, which would make that 24 years ago. 

I was totally trying to figure out how could it be that Molly Ringwald could be even portraying a mother of teens on the teevee.  I looked Molly up on the Google and she’s almost exactly a year to the day older than me, so, that means she’s 40.  Whoa.

Then I remembered I have a kid who will be 17 in January and another who will be 15 in about 2 weeks.

On top of that, the last couple days, I have spewed forth more Mom -sounding rhetoric to my teens than I can remember doing all at once. I have sounded very much like a grownup. (Scary) I mean, I am a parent of teenagers.  I know I probably shoulda been hit with this reality, oh, about 4 years ago when the Manchild crossed that threshold, and I guess I did.  I think given some circumstances flying around, there’s been a lot more reality checks of late.

What’s even scarier to me is that the Manchild is just a little over a year away from being a legal adult.  That means he’ll be able to vote.  He’ll be able to buy cigarettes if he so chooses (I hope that he doesn’t), he’ll have to register for the Draft or whatever they call it.

This navel-gazing moment was brought to you courtesy of Molly Ringwald.  Thanks a heap, Molly.

At Least They’re Consistent

I had to drop something off at the school office yesterday for the Manchild.

Incase you haven’t been inside a high school office lately….Office Ladies are still bitchy.  Nice to know some things never change.

Funny how at months away from my 40th birthday, walking into school office and being greeted so un-warmly by Office Lady…still makes me feel like I’ve done something wrong or that I need to get an Absent Slip cause I skipped school…again.