When I think of Jerry Reed, I remember the times he would show up to Grassland Heights Baptist Church with his wife, Prissy and their girls, Sedina and Lottie, and this was during the era of “When You’re Hot You’re Hot” and he was pretty hot then…but I always wondered why he never opened his mouth and sang during the singing part. Never did. I’ve noticed that about Country Music folk. They usually don’t sing in church. (‘Cept Ricky Skaggs and the Whites do. They’re fun to sit next to in church, I tell you what. )

Anyway, Jerry Reed was SO hot, he was on Scooby Doo…movies, the obvious was the Smokey and the Bandit movies, but, I always dug him in “The Survivors” with Robin Williams, “The Waterboy” and a bunch of others; (he was a good character actor) he was a good songwriter, and to me, he was just an amazing guitarist. He had such a groove. Dang, I loved to hear that man play.

Jerry also had a short-lived television show in the 70’s that my Dad was the emcee of.

I hate that the Alabama (although he was from Georgia )Wildman is gone. He was something else.

