Archive for October 25th, 2008

In Which I Use A Few Too Many Metaphors…

I feel like somebody took my innards and just tied ‘em up in a big ol’ double knot.

Do I roll with it and just untie the stupid thing and let it straighten itself out by doing what it needs to do or do I just sit on it and keep the knot tied and just get used to that uncomfortable feeling until I’m numb to it and it doesn’t bother me anymore?

I think the first option is what I’m supposed to do, according to the counselor. But, if I do that, then I’ll be all sad and blue and I don’t want to be. Sad and blue is not attractive and it makes others around you uncomfortable. I like everybody to be happy and comfortable. If I’m out of sorts, then it will be obvious.

No, just go on and get your mind on something else and avoid dealing with the knot. My pain tolerance is high. I can suck it up and pretend I don’t hurt.

Then again, maybe if I let it out of its cage, it might get kinda ugly for a little bit. It might get downright nasty getting down to the nitty gritty and getting all the yuck out but maybe…just maybe….once all that junk gets a good scrubbing….gets out, maybe, just maybe, the knot will loosen and everything will start working normally again better. Hmmm…thats quite a concept.

That knot has kinda begun to interefere with my regularity. I really don’t want Jamie Lee Curtis to show up with some of that yogurt thats supposed to make you reggalar. (Sorry if thats TMI) Not just THAT reggalarity but all around and in general. It’s getting on my nerves.

I think I’m ready to get busy healin’ up sos I can get on with it.

Sista’s Neighborhood

Just about anywhere I go in this town, I see people I know. People I knew from school, people I know from work, church, music, and other stuff. Now, they may not always know me, but, I know who lots of people are because I have this weird part of my brain that absorbs info like who somebody is and other details that I will retain for years and years. Sometimes it’s embarrassing. Lotsa times I chat it up with them (ask my sister how many people I run into on a Saturday at the Wal Mart. SHE, who gave me a bad reputation in school because she talked so much, teachers thought I would be as bad, teasing me for being chatty!)

Donna, my friend and former co-worker…whenever we’d go to lunch she’d say “Ok, Sharon…who do you know in here?” Just one of them thangs.

So, yesterday, I went to lunch with my NEW friend and co-worker, the fabulous and fun Dara and this other lady in the office. We went to Cracker Barrel out there at Cool Springs.

I warned Dara on the way in that it was likely I would see somebody I knew in here cause this is my former grounds of stompin’. Yeah, there’s lots of new transplants, but, I know that there’s still lots of people who’ve been out there forever.

So, we’re sitting there and I’m befuddled at the lack of conversation going on betwixt the lady eating with us and Dara and me. Dara could talk to a wall (as could I) but I don’t think this lady said 10 words the whole time. I even texted Dara in the middle of this Quiet Time and said “Is X always this chatty at lunch?” Heh.

Then I spotted the Person I Knew I Would See I Knew….my former, Cross-The-Street-Neighbor when I was a kid. I haven’t seen him in probably 20 years. I got to thinking about him and his family and I giggled to myself remembering how my Dad called his Missus the wrong name one time and to this day, my sister and I refer to her as “Geneva.” (It’s funny to us. That idn’t her name)

When we were leaving, I was looking to see if could see Bob and Geneva and sho nuff…there they sat. Looking exactly the same as when I was a kid, just older. I walked up to the table, preparing myself cause Bob and Geneva, sweetest sorta salt of the earth people around, have about as much personality and chattiness as me and Dara’s lunch partner. Those people put the “SHHHHHHHHHH” in shy. Really good people though.

I still remember how every single December 1 when I was a kid, Geneva would put their Christmas tree up in the front window and candles in the other three front windows. They had a mirror in their living room and the Christmas tree reflecting into the mirror made it look HUGE. They ALWAYS turned those lights of at 8:00 EVERY night too. This went on from the time I was probably 6 or 7 until they moved a couple years before I married. When I finally got to see that tree for real when I was babysitting them, I was amazed at how SMALL and not as pretty up close their tree was. Isn’t that crazy? Why do I remember crap like this?? Isn’t there a better use for my brain cells???

They were glad to see me…how many kids do I have…how’s yer Mama, yer sister, etc. I asked about their children, who I used to babysit for. Both kids are in their 30′s and their daughter is…gulp….a veterinarian.

Somebody I used to help wipe their rear end, change into their jammies and tell them to hush up and get to bed has the word “Doctor” in front of their name.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.