I still don’t have a job yet.   People ask “Have you done this?” “Have you thought about …that?”  Yes, I’ve thought about all of it.  Done just about all of it.  I’m trying to keep my good humor and positive attitude about the whole thing and for the most part, that is ok.   BUT…there are moments.

I had an interview scheduled today with an agency Downtown.  The ONLY call I’ve had for an interview.  Out 15 jillion applications, resumes, etc.  ONE call.  Ok no…thats a lie.  I had a phone interview with a company the other day and apparently, my charm and professionalism must not have oozed through the phone cause they passed on me.  This was the first In Person interview I’ve been called for.

Let me talk fashion here for a second.  I am not a dress up kinda gal.  I don’t give a flip about shopping or style.  I probably should put more effort into the whole style/image thing but eh.  Not into it. 

I worked at the same place for 10 years.  It was not a “dress up” kinda workplace.  We weren’t allowed to wear jeans to work (even on Fridays) and like a lot of other workplaces, if you ever did wear a skirt you would get the obvious “Have you got an interview?”  or my favorite line to people was “Who died?”  (Dressed up for funerals, etc) 

Even at church anymore, we don’t dress up.  When I was a kid, it was unthinkable to wear pants to church on a Sunday morning.  Sunday night was ok, but, Sunday morning???  Never.  It was just not “fittin'” to do that.  If it was REALLY cold or something and even then, there was a feeling of being a real rebel.  

So, with this jobless state I’m in, the question of “What Am I Gonna Wear” surfaced.  Now, money is tight being that I’m unemployed.    The Children’s Father has been absolutely fantastic through this whole thing and I’m quite appreciative of how good he has been about it.  We have a good relationship and it’s the kinda thing where if the situation was reversed, I would be as helpful to him as he’s been to me.  I don’t know why I’m telling that but I get asked that a lot so there’s your answer. 

I have one business-y like suit-sorta thing that is right nice looking.  I never wear it.  I’ve not had to have stuff like that and when it comes to spending money, specially on clothes, I’m not gonna spend it on stuff I don’t need. (Yes, I know…lesson learned…you should always have something like that.)

So I was scheduled for this interview today at 2.  I even went and bought pantyhose for the occasion. 

I have to insert here that I am having an issue with my main Gmail account.  I can’t get into it.  I changed the password and couldn’t get in.  I guess I tried to many times and it locked it out for 5 days.  The secondary email I had on the account was at my old work (as in where I was first laid off from in 06) and because of Security issues, I have to wait 5 days before I can get into the account to get my dang Secret Question. 

The place I was interviewing with apparently goes by a different name in the phone listing because I couldn’t find a number for them in Information.   This is an important part of the story.  Just remember, I didn’t have a contact phone number cause it’s in the Gmail I can’t get into.

So, I come back to get ready to go for this interview.  I put the pants on with this thing (haven’t worn it in awhile).  I’m primping in the mirror and notice the fly is open and I hollered “NO WAY”. 

The zipper broke.  It was not the kinda thing where it coulda been hidden either. 

I lost it.  I mean….totally, melted down, lost it, was cussing the zipper, cussing God, cussing being laid off, cussing myself for buying that stupid car, crying so hard I was near the point of hyperventilating.  Why in the world can something not open to give me a break?  You can probably visualize the whole scene.  I was telling God “Ya know…I’ve busted my rear end all these years trying to do what’s “right” …trying to please You, others in my life, I’ve been “good” …oh I went on and on.  (I imagine my Stay At Home Mom neighbor next door got an earful.  God knows I can hear EVERYTHING that goes on in that unit. I’m sure she heard my Jacob-Like Wrestling with God showdown going on. Heh)

I told God I needed a little something to remind me that He was still interested cause I was about to go all Lieutenant Dan on Him….you know that part in Forest Gump when he hollers “You call this a storm??”  I was mad.  All because my zipper broke.  But, I could not go into this place with a busted zipper hoping they’d place me.  What was I gonna do?  I couldn’t just not show up at the interview but I had no contact phone number.

So, I’m still crying and fussing and just mad.  This was about 1:35.  Interview was at 2. 

Phone rings.

This lovely, Australian/New Zealandish accent tells me the lady I was to interview with today had some sort of “Personal Business” to deal with and could I possibly reschedule. 

“Why yes” I said to the Charming Australian Guy on the phone…”That would be simply looove-ly.”  So maybe I didn’t say it exactly like that but I think my glee at the fact that they needed to reshedyool me was more than obvious. 

So yeah…He’s listening.  And He’s interested.  And I think God is ok with us saying “What the ??????”  at Him.

