Archive for March 9th, 2009

I Kinda Liked This Monday…

I did something today I haven’t done in three months…I got up and went to work! I was a happy camper to have somewhere to go today. I did go off and forget to take my ADD medicine though and other than a headache, luckily, it didn’t affect me too bad since it was your typical, Orientation, where you mostly sit and listen. 

Thank ya all for your kind words, prayers and encouragement over the last few months. I especially want to thank my agent, His Sarcastic-ness

I’m in a Training class of 10 people.  I like to think of it like we were the Finalists ala American Idol.  It started out with some 350+ people applying for these positions.  It was narrowed and narrowed and according to HR Guy….we were the “Cream o’da Crop.”  Most of us victims of lay offs.  I am grateful indeed.  More than I can tell you.

So, I have to show you something great on a totally different subject matter (Did I mention I went to work today without taking my ADD medicine?)

  Now, I know I impress with my name-dropping and such. I love to brag about how I went to school with the likes of Ashley Judd, Jeff Cease (formerly of the Black Crowes, and now my newest oldest pal Eric…..well, I think my two teens have me  beat.

241

I did not know until this evening, that the Manchild and his sister are schoolmates of Cousin It’s grandson!  Black Crowes, movies…..pshaw!  That right there is just plain cool.

Hank Locklin

Country Music has lost a dandy with the passing of Hank Locklin.  He’s one of the few from that era and on that level, it is sad, but, my gosh….91 years of living and up until fairly recently, Hank was active.  What a funny little man who sang some classics…..Please Help Me I’m Falling, Send Me The Pillow are the biggies.

Hank and the Biffer went all the way back to Houston days. 

I have many memories of Hank but my FAVORITE one is this one right here.

locklin

This was at Carl Smith’s Medallion Ceremony when he was inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame in 2004.  I was TRYING to take a picture of Carl and Goldie, their son Dean, his wife Tammy, and their daughters Lori Lynn and Carlene.  Hank happened to just wander up and got in the middle of it like he was supposed to and it was hilarious.   Like Hank was standing in for Carl, Jr. or something.  Har.  Good times.

Here’s a little clip of Hank singing his signature song…..ah and my beloved T. Tommy Cutrer introducing him….I swear, I’m so glad I was able to hang around all these people.  Lotta love to Hank’s family, ‘specially his son Adam who is a good feller.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.