danmiller

It’s not possible that Dan Miller  is gone from this world

No, he wasn’t what you’d call ‘Young” but Dan Miller, although he was 67, was somehow ageless.  At least he was to me. 

I’ve been in love with Dan Miller my whole life.  That is no lie. 

Dan Miller moved to Nashville in October of 1969 and started his career with what was then WSM TV.  That same month, the Collie’s from Southern California also moved to Nashville.  I was 8 months old.

The Dad was BIG on the evening news.  I mean, he was not a particularly anal, OCD kinda guy but at 6:00, it was Newstime.  Dan was his Newsguy of choice.  (The Dad was critical of broadcasters and Dan was just about the only one he was always complimentary of). 

I’ve seen Dan go through many co-anchors, sports guys and girls like Charlie MacAlexander, the late Paul Eels, and some girl named Robin Roberts who now greets us every morning on Good Morning America;  weather people ,including his good friend Pat Sajak, George Goldtrap (the Chalk Throwing Guy), the late Boyce Hawkins and of course….everybody’s Uncle Bill Hall…Carol Marin, John Tesh, Lonnie Lardner (Dad called her “Lardie Lardie” for some reason.)

One of the most memorable moments was the time Huell Howser did the story on Porky the Pig…who went to that Great Barnyard in the Sky.  Dan tried really hard not to lose it on the air but…to me, that always rivaled Chuckles the Clown. Oh lordy mercy….if somebody can find a video on that, give us a link. (Didn’t find one on the You Tubes). 

You have to watch this…Demetria shows us Dan’s office and some great outtakes.

Dan was just there.  He came to the house every evening about suppertime and about bedtime.  He told us of the goings on in Nashville.  We trusted him.  We loved him.  He was like part of the family…almost like that really cool, handsome uncle that you’re so proud of.  Whatever Dan Miller said was so.  Period.

I never actually met Dan but the times I ever saw him anywhere, to me, it was like seeing a rock star. He was so tall and handsome and just plain dreamy. We corresponded here and there and something that tickled me to no end was Dan being my Facebook friend. (Shut up…he LOVED me!) 

 I emailed him one time and told him they oughta bring back Miller & Company.  He thanked me and said he didn’t think a show like that could fly nowadays.   (Dan Miller emailed me! See, I told you he adored me)

I reckon if it’s your time to check out, there was no better way for a fella to leave than by being in his hometown at the Master’s with your good friends.  To go out for a little walk, showing your friend your childhood neighborhood  and keep on walking into the next life on the same street where you entered life?  To be here one minute and gone the next….good for Dan because he didn’t suffer but for his family, friends and all of us who felt like close, personal friends….it’s gonna take some getting used to. 

I remember in 1986 or so when Dan left Nashville to take a job in LA.  They ran a goodbye tribute that had all of Nashville in tears.  Dan went off to LA and anchored some news for a bit.  I was out there during that period and was SO HAPPY to see him on tv.  I missed him.

As much as Nashville cried when Dan left here for LA, we cheered when he came back in the early 90’s and resurrected “Miller & Company” on TNN. and then when he came back to WSMV, where he belonged.  It was like he never left. 

I can’t stand it that he won’t be back this time. 

027

You must go to WSMV’s website and see their beautiful tributes.  Channel 5 offered their own very sweet tribute as well.

Go see Dan’s blog while you’re at it.

