Archive for September 6th, 2006

The Old Gray Mare

Mr. Smiff had gotten a copy of the first season of Grey’s Anatomy in a goodie bag from Fan Fair or something. I said to myself “Ok, I’m going to see if this show is really as great as everybody says.” I’ve only watched one episode thus far….a bunch of horny doctors. Whoop-tee-doo.

Then, I watched an episode on tv the other night and I was slightly freaked out to see Mare Winningham portraying a grandmother-to-be. WTF?!?! She is not old enough to be a grandmother, for the love of Rob Lowe and Emilio Estevez! I started to do a blog post of my freaked outedness of the whole Mare’s A Grandma thing, but, true to my nature, I got sidetracked or forgot or something.

This is where the weirdness comes in. Tonight, Mr. Smiff’s cell phone rang (his cell phone rings a LOT these days. So much, he almost needs one of them ear pieces so he can talk in public with his hands on the phone) and it’s this musician guy who is going to be producing an album on Grandma Mare and does Mr. Smiff have Alison Krauss’s phone number cause Mare wants to sing with her?

Maybe that’s not weirdness to anybody else, but, I thought it terribly ironic. I wish to Jesus that guy would hire Mr. Smiff to play on the session solely so he could say “You know, my wife blogged about how you played a grandma.”

I’ve Got The Joy, Joy, Joy, Joy Down In My Heart

My Aunt Joy is quite amazing. She is my dad’s oldest sister, the oldest of the 5 kids in his family. She is 86 years young, has had a couple strokes, yet gets on the computer and checks email everyday. My mother is 71 and refuses to touch a computer. Probably because she thinks its a lesbian or something. Probably part of why Joy is still going strong at her age is she has always stayed with the times, tried new things. She raised two fine kids, alone, worked…after she retired, she took guitar lessons! (Sidenote..her grandaughter, Julie Hanson, appeared on Broadway as “Christine” in Phantom)

She never missed a birthday of any of her family, including her many nieces and nephews. She even remembers her abundant number of great nieces and nephews. She used to send a card to all of us every year on our birthdays. She just emailed my daughter to wish her a happy birthday this week. Makes me cry that she takes the time to remember my girl.

Everybody needs an aunt like Joy.

And SHUT UP laughing at my top. It was 1987! This was my Loretta Lynn phase. In fact, I have this same top on in a picture with Loretty!

Down No Mo’

Nothing lifts a pouty mood like lunch with nice people. I started not to go because I’ve been in such crapola mode the last two days and didn’t want to be like Debbie Downer. Thing is, anytime you are in the company of Busy Mom, CeeElCee and Short and Fat, a down mood is surely to be run o-f-t pretty quickly.
Maybe I should consider being social more often.